A brief thought on judgementalism

Ignatius Brianchaninov said:

Whatever you do, on no account condemn anyone; do not even try to judge whether a person is good or bad, but keep your eyes on that one evil person for whom you must give an account before God: yourself.

I’ve been spending my time criticising and judging someone in my church, trying to figure out where they are spiritually, praying for them, deeply frustrated by them….

This quote helps put things in perspective.

 

2 thoughts on “A brief thought on judgementalism

  1. there probably are as many people in a church fellowship that make me a little irritated – as I am irritating to them. When you look to Jesus, I imagine the hurts and the disappointments I have caused by my attitude being the nails driven into His flesh on the Cross. We should put that attitude at the foot of the Cross. He loves us all unconditionally, and came not to judge, but to be Grace and Truth for us, to redeem us. As an elder sister in church, someone I have known twenty years said in response to how to ‘deal’ with a difficult person “Love (him) (her) with Jesus’ love. Tell them that you love them and pray for him (her).”

    • Thank you for your comment! This is a good way to look at it. It’s easy to forget that our sins are just as bad as anyone else’s. Every day that I remember that is a good day.

Leave a Reply

