Can you rejoice in Me?

Lying in bed, earlier than I want it to be.
The sound of children’s voices when I want quiet.
Grumbles rise to the surface, discontentment chafing.
If only I had a bigger house, quieter children…

Recognising the path my thoughts are taking, reining them in,
Offering thankfulness for this house, these children, this life.
And then His whisper in my mind:

“Can you rejoice in Me?”

Not just thanking Him for His blessings,
But basking in His presence,
Opening my heart to the rays of His love,
Looking past the changing circumstances, good or ill,
And seeing the One who never alters.

I will rejoice in You!

14 thoughts on “Can you rejoice in Me?

  1. Amen!! Just what I needed to hear as I whisper to Him … will the space, the bigger home, the quieter children ever come? And alas He speaks through you and says … Rejoice! Rejoice in the Lord always, and again I say rejoice! His provision is abundant and the tent pegs of my heart ever expanding. Oh He is good … I choose to delight in Him today!! Thank you Jesus!! 🙂

    • 🙂
      Love you my friend! He said this to me earlier this week and I’ve been chewing on it ever since. It’s a mind-blowing thought (for me, at least – I’m a little bit slow LOL).
      It’s funny, I’ve known this since I was a child (“Rejoice in the Lord always”), but it only just went from head to heart.

  2. This is really good! Thank you for the reminder. I heard something the other day that reminds me of this piece and visa-versa. I wish I could remember where I heard it. But it was something about serving/giving and how when we are focused on giving to God we don’t hit the walls that we do when we serve people. If we are focused on the person we can feel taken advantage of, but if we’re focused on loving God through our actions, we can never out give God . . .

    You encouraged me today, my friend!

  3. That is true! Also if we’re aiming to keep everyone happy we end up stressed, but if we aim to please God, we have peace.
    Glad that this encouraged you (it was really God, not me).

  4. This is a favorite ~ Rejoice…always. David knew this well. In the Psalm you will find the key to David’s worship. He would express his woes and then go on to say, But…..and proceed to praise the Lord. His knew the way out of his thoughts was Praise ~ Rejoicing …always ! Blessings to you and your household ~ thank you. ~ Amen :Y

  5. Thanking, basking, rejoicing – they come when we allow Him to fill us with His love and grace. Your post is so lovely in its simplicity. Thank you for allowing His light and joy to shine through you.

  6. So great to be reminded of these truths through a friend’s living it out. It can be so easy as long time believers to forget the power of words when lived out with the familiarity of hearing them. This truth is reiterated over and over in the Bible. Though the fig tree does not blossom… yet will I rejoice. And the rejoicing doesn’t have to be in our circumstances. It’s a rejoicing that lifts us beyond that to reminding ourselves of God and being filled with joy from the simple facts of who He is and who we are with Him.

    • Love that passage “Though the fig tree does not blossom…” There is an old song that always comes to mind, maybe you know it too. I guess God has to say it over and over again because we are so good at forgetting!

  7. He has us just where He needs us. Contentment is truly one of his greatest blessings. It is the fruit of peace that withstands the storms and is still found filling our branches. It is the evidence and affirmation of our belief, of our being called by the voice of Him who is Faithful and True.

    Isaiah 26:3 ESV
    You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.

Leave a Reply

