Beggar for Love

I was a beggar for love until you found me,

Clutching my filthy rags around me,

Scrabbling in the dirt for scraps left behind,

Holding tight to what I could find,

Until you found me.

 

I was a beggar for love until you found me,

The longing for love a festering wound within me,

Scorned love turned to passionate hate,

Loathing myself more than anyone else,

Until you found me.

 

I was a beggar for love, but you stooped in the dirt,

Picked me up, washed my wounds, healed my hurt.

In your perfect love, Jesus, I find

A well so deep I can never drink it dry.

Not just one in a crowd to you,

But a beloved child lost and sought,

You never relented until you had me safe in your arms

Nestled near your heart,

A beggar no more.

I am yours.

4 thoughts on “Beggar for Love

  1. What beautiful heart warming words, Isaiah 41 v 10, yes when we put our flesh to death by the Spirit those rags are torn away and we are clothed in Purple meaning Royalty and we are perfected in Love, no longer to sin and loose our way and having an eagerness to obey, did Jesus stop Loving us when we were dressed in rags, no Love never turns the Loved one away but oh how He longed for us to choose to obey and to know His Joy everyday and so He placed His robe of righteousness around us to show us the way until we knew we could obey.

    Christian Love from us both – Anne

Leave a Reply

