Banishing the black dog

Depression, I know you.  You’re a fog that seeps into my mind, obscuring the view, stealing my hope.  I think I’ve escaped you, but you want to return, an unwanted visitor who won’t take the hint and leave.  You tell me that there’s no future for me and that my life has no value.

Some days there’s a battle in my mind, when the thoughts come and attempt to destroy me.  I fight with words and songs and on my knees.  I cry out for deliverance, for my King to save me from my despair.  He speaks His truth to my spirit and restores my hope.  He dispels the fog, giving me a vision of the future so that I can persevere.

I am confident of this, that the one who began a good work among you will bring it to completion by the day of Jesus Christ.  Philippians 1:6

For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.  Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

